In this state, employers register bodyguards instead of the state. Before starting your career path you should first obtain an Ohio security license.
As an unarmed security officer, you can work without your identification card with some limit. So, your director should get some kind of waiver from the person who will hire you.
This means the latter must be aware that you haven’t completed your registration. At the same time, he/she should agree to your employment.
To become an armed bodyguard your first should be receiving firearms training from the police department (likewise it is in the state of North Carolina).
The application costs $40. However, for an armed guard registration, you must pay an additional $15. You can do the payment either in money order or by a check.
After serving for a year you need to renew your license.
The fee is $25 (or $40 if done later). Yet, for armed officers, it raises to $40. You can pay in money order or by a check.
NOTE: You mustn’t have been guilty of a felony during the last year to be able to do the renewal. After you fill out the license renewal form your director should submit it.
The state doesn’t have any demands concerning training. It varies by employer. The latter may require some terms.
For armed officers there are two types of training:
All prices may vary by the providers.
Your fingerprints should be submitted electronically when applying as a watchman. Either you provide them or your employer can take them.
To carry a weapon you must do an FBI check. Otherwise, you may only need BCI background testing. In that case, only you can submit the fingerprint directly to the BCI.
The amount of money varies by provider.
After your record is accepted you will get your officer ID. Here is what it is made of:
In case your ID gets spoiled or lost, you can do a replacement:
The Ohio Department of Public Safety Private Investigators & Security Services
1970 West Broad Street
P.O. Box 182001
Columbus, Ohio 43218-2001
Phone Number: (614) 466-4130 and (614) 466-0342 (fax).