Ohio Plumbing License

Ohio Plumbing License

An Ohio plumbing license allows you to start your own business. But, the criteria are a little complicated in this area. At first, it is important to be aware of the current business in general․

Consequently, this article is a complete guide for you.


These essential needs are a priority for obtaining a permit:

  • To be no less than 18 years old
  • HSD or GED
  • Be citizens of the US and foreigners who own proof of legal residency
  • Not to hold any criminal convictions or any illegal conduct
  • Possess job history as a plumber for at least five years before being licensed (as well as a minimum of one authorization for twelve months)
  • Provide the warrant number of the supervisor
  • Be employed as a registered engineer and have no less than three years of experience (any working experiences are relevant to the board)
  • Hold insurance with a minimum of $500,000 in coverage
  • Pay $25 for application to the “Treasurer, State of OH”


The following documents are mandatory for request:

  1. Notarized paperwork fully completed and without mistakes
  2. The company name that you worked under
  3. W2s
  4. $25 fee check

OCILB will mail you confirmation. Then you should undergo BCI and FBI background checks. Finally, you may provide their result to the board.

License practice test

The test is conducted by PSI Online Exams, which consists of two parts:

  1. The Business and Law exam
  2. Contractor exam

The final score appears on the screen immediately.

After passing both parts you need to send these official documents:

  1. A copy of the test findings
  2. Notarized application
  3. Check for a $25 payment
  4. Evidence of $500,000 insurance

After all, you will receive your written permission. Yet, achieving official permission lasts at least five years.


Although formal education is not obligatory for apprentices and journeymen it is preferable. There is a great choice of courses available both online and offline. So, you are free to choose anyone.


It is not acceptable to obtain a permit without an apprenticeship. There are two degrees that you have to obtain before approval:

  1. Apprentice
  2. Journeyman

All this should take place under the control of the supervisor.


The payments for the formal paperwork are a necessity.

  1. The Business and Law exam – $69
  2. Contractor exam – $69

How to transfer a plumbing license in Ohio?

  • Registration in Cincinnati and Columbus is mandatory for specialists in this field. Therefore, you must pay $130 in Cincinnati and $185 in Columbus.
  • In Dayton, you must already possess authorization from another location in this area. The fee is $100. The test should be taken in Dayton.
  • Toledo also requires craftsmen to get a local authorization before starting the job. For further steps, you may follow the demands of Dayton.

Please, pay attention that all payments are non-refundable.


According to the reciprocal agreements, a qualified plumber can get a free warrant in the following states: Tennessee, West Virginia and South Carolina


The extension takes place in two ways:

  1. Once for twelve months: the payment for eight hours of continuing education costs $60.
  2. Once within three years: one day of continuing education costs $180.

The board allows you to complete half of the educational process online and the next half offline.


You may verify individual and business credentials at the Professional Licensure System website.

Make sure you enter all the details correctly. Otherwise, the slightest mistake causes problems during the search.

Narine H

Narine H

Narine is a new specialist in content writing. She graduated with a bachelor's degree in pedagogics from the BSU. She is fluent in four languages. She likes studying not only Indo-European languages but also languages belonging to other language families. Although she is skilled as an academic writer, now she tests her strength in SEO as a content writer.